The True Meaning Of Christmas?

merry-christmas-snoopy-9066336-800-600

I thought that this was the right time to write about something like this. Before, I begin whatever I may say that what I think the true meaning of Christmas means doesn’t mean that I’m right everyone will have a different opinion to me maybe because of religion or just even personal thoughts. Despite what I think Christmas means, I do not mean to imply that my interpretation is correct. Everyone has their own opinion and is entitled to one.

Occasionally, around this time of year, you often hear people usually older generations saying that we do not know the true meaning of Christmas but we all have different ideas of what Christmas should be like. Technology is often used an excuse, I can guarantee that at least one person in each household would receive a gadget. Most children care more about the presents rather than anything else but as we grow up we realise what it was like to be a child during Christmas. It was amazing, the excitement of Santa, his reindeer etc. As you grow up, reality kicks in and you start to lose interest. This might not be necessarily true for everyone but for some it may. During Christmas, children grow up thinking about the presents, what they’ll get, whose present is better than whose. We can’t always blame the children though, society and media is evolving quickly. Material items are being portrayed to be more important rather than family, friends, memories etc. As a result of this, children do start to forget the true meaning of Christmas.

It is a different story if you are religious, for Christians I know that the birth of Jesus is why we celebrate this holiday but for other religions e.g. Judaism I am not 100% sure of the meaning of Hanukkah (apologies if I have misspelled). When I was younger, I remember being taught that presents weren’t why Christmas was important but that Jesus, our loved ones etc were the reason. I guess as you grow up you start to realise the true meaning of all of this. No matter what you believe in, we all have an idea of what Christmas, Hanukkah, Eid etc should be like.

As I have matured, I think Christmas means when you come to realise all the things you have and to be grateful and appreciate what you have rather than what you don’t. To cherish all your family and friends as others may not be able to do so.

I hope you enjoyed this blog, thank you to all my readers and I hope you have a great time celebrating whatever festivity you celebrate and have a happy new year!

Before I go, I am going on holiday from tomorrow, I may not be able to post until the week of January the 5th. If I’m not able to write, I will write a huge blog about my holiday!

Thanks for reading

♥︎

Leave a Reply

