Teenage Drug Usage

Image

Just before I start to write about this topic, I want to make one thing clear and that is that I have never taken drugs before and I do not have any contact with any dealers. Everything that I write about is what I have learnt and heard from friends.

I’ve recently noticed that a lot of people have started to take or smoke drugs and a very large majority of them are in the early teens. It’s becoming more popular that teens take drugs and to be honest I don’t know why. Why is it that it’s our generation being abused with drugs? I suppose the answer to this is that we are probably the easiest age group to target and as a lot of people in the media are taking drugs, teens are more willing to try them. The dealers aren’t complaining though because they are the ones taking in all the money and they don’t care about the ages of their customers because business is business.

One of the main reasons of why many teens take or try drugs is because of the people around them or peer pressure. If your parents or older siblings take any substances then you are more likely to try them because the drugs are in reach which tempts you to try them. Peer pressure is a big cause because the teen social scene is revolved around drinking, smoking and taking drugs. If you have older friends then they are probably more likely to know someone who sells drugs or they might take it themselves. Your friend might urge you to try a joint or something else and drugs are usually seen as a ‘normal teenage experience’ but really it’s not, if you think about the teens decades ago they would’ve thought that it was definitely odd for teens to take drugs and it is. We are still growing up and why should a plant affect our future body and mind, if you’d see the side effects and the facts about drugs I think it would put you off. Please if you are ever offered drugs, a cigarette or an alcoholic drink decline it. Think about what you are putting into your body and think about how you are affecting it.

Another purpose of drug use is because of boredom and wanting to ‘escape’ the world. What I mean by that is when a teen is unhappy with something in their life, they will want to find a solution of ‘escaping’ and that escape is often drugs. At a certain point when you are mostly mentally weak if you are offered a drug, it’ll be harder for you to refuse and unfortunately it would end up with you taking the drug.  Depending on what is taken you may feel happy, oblivious, hyper, confident etc and whatever the effect is it’ll work but once you recover you will realise that you have made a mistake. If you are still feeling down, you’ll feel as if the drug is your only escape to happiness but in actual fact, it is making the whole situation worse and rather than doing that try and sort it out whatever it is even if you need professional help because sorting the problem out is better than feeling like no one can help you.

I know a few people who take certain drugs and I won’t mention their names but whenever I see them do it, I feel disappointed that they take drugs because I have know them nearly their whole life. To see them change and grow into a bad habit destroys me and it jut shows me that people can change so much. I have often tried to convince them to stop because they’ll get addicted and that a lot of them will change without them realising. They always reassure me that they will not get addicted and that they’d stop soon but I still feel weary that they won’t stop.

I have seen the side effects in person and seen the difference between the old person and the new person who had been taking drugs. The effects aren’t good and if you could see the effects yourself you’d be shocked. The appearance and the overall person changes and you’d be horrified if you’d see them happen to you. If you actually thought about it and saw yourself in the mirror I’m sure you would be convinced to stop because some causes are long term and the usage of drugs can also cause many types of cancers.

I hope you found this blog interesting and that I have changed your view of drugs, please make wise decisions with what you do. Thanks for reading xoxo

3 thoughts on “Teenage Drug Usage

Leave a Reply

