Relationships

Image

I’ve noticed that some of my friends have been recently going into relationships and others have been ending some. There are so many ups and downs in relationships but there are also so many good things that can come out of them. They can also teach you things that would help you in future relationships. Unfortunately, people can be involved in abusive or unhealthy relationships but others find happy, healthy and long-lasting ones.

Now my past relationships haven’t been great because I’m still a teen but I have learnt a thing or two from them. You shouldn’t go into a relationship because you feel pressured to, do things that only you want to and feel comfortable doing after all you are going to be the one dealing with the aggro. Communication is a very big part in relationships too but I didn’t have much of that in my previous one so that didn’t work but in order for your relationship to work you MUST talk to each other because a lot of things could go wrong and lead to arguments.

Before you go into a relationship, think about how you feel towards the person. Do you trust that person? Can you trust them? If your answers to them are yes then there’s a chance that you two could have an honest relationship but it’s not only how you feel, their opinion always counts to. You cannot have a reliable bond if you can’t both trust each other. Most relationships are built on trust and without it you’ll have a slim chance of having an honest and open relationship.

Abusive relationships often lack respect and equality, over the past decades women have become equal to men but some men still don’t give women respect. It can leave the woman in the relationship feeling worthless which allows the man to abuse her and it ends up for the woman to accept it because she thinks she isn’t worth the fight. If there are any signs in your relationship please don’t feel that there is no one out there for you or that you have no voice. There are a lot of help lines that can help you and I’m sure your family and friends could help you too. Don’t feel that you are vulnerable because you are stronger than you think and you are capable to end the relationship and find the right person for you that will treat you right and respect you.

Aside from the negatives in relationships, there are also a lot of positives in them. The days that you can spend together either chilling or having a fun-filled day, no matter what each other’s company is the best. It can also give you a positive attitude towards life because even their presence brightens up your day. It’s sometimes difficult though if you are in a long distance relationship but as long as you have a strong, honest bond and that you two can meet up often then I’m sure you’ll have a good relationship together. Being together with someone is also good because you realise that someone is out there that cares for you and it’s just a nice feeling to have when at the end of the day you can talk to that special someone.

Whoever you’re in a relationship whether they’re the same gender as you or not. You can still date even if people don’t accept your homosexuality. You will find out who your true friends are and which family members can support you in any of your decisions. I think its very important to take small steps when you’re telling people about who you interested in and it will take time for them to accept it but as long as they can respect you and your decisions then you’re lucky to have supportive and caring people around you.

Often when teens are in relationships, our parents can get involved too. Sometimes there are bad and good things but I’m sure the majority of teens would say it’s mostly bad. I remember I’d find it embarrassing and a little awkward when my mum would ask if I had any boyfriends. When I have children, I’d like to know if my children would have a girlfriend or boyfriend but I think I would try not to make it embarrassing for them because I’d know what they would be going through. If my children would have different gender preferences, I would respect their decision and let them know that I’d be there to help them and support them because I wouldn’t want them to think that they can’t speak out or talk to me honestly.

Friends can come between relationships too and it isn’t because of a good reason. They can tell how you’re feeling if you’ve been acting differently since your relationship started and they’re normally right. There are a few sayings, for the boys “Bros before hoes” and for girls “Mates before dates” these are true, think about your partner. Are they worth more than your friends who have stuck by you? Do you want to lose your loyal friends over someone who is perhaps just a teen crush because most of the time, you’d think the partner is more important but in a matter of fact your friends are more important. There is a statistic that you lose 2-3 close friends during a relationship. I think this is true because one of my friends is in a relationship and the other person has often disrespected my friend. Another friend and I feel that we aren’t as close to her as we used to be because of our friend’s relationship but I think she is starting to see sense and I hope she realises what she needs in a relationship.

I hope you found this blog interesting and I hope that you have a good relationships in your future. Thanks for reading xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

